Judicial Merit Selection Commission

Rep. Alan D. Clemmons, Chairman Sen. Larry A. Martin, Vice-Chairman Sen. George E. Campsen, III Sen. Gerald Malloy Rep. Bruce W. Bannister Rep. David J. Mack, III Kristian C. Bell Joseph Preston Strom, Jr. Susan T. Wall Robert M. Wilcox



Post Office Box 142 Columbia, South Carolina 29202 (803) 212-6623 Elizabeth H. Brogdon, Chief Counsel Emma Dean

MEDIA RELEASE

August 17, 2015

Public Hearings have been scheduled to begin the week of November 16, 2015 and the week of November 30, 2015, with the hearings commencing at 9 a.m. regarding the qualifications of the following candidates for judicial positions.

Supreme Court

Seat 2

The Honorable Ralph King Anderson, III, Columbia, SC The Honorable David Craig Brown, Florence, SC The Honorable John Cannon Few, Greenville, SC The Honorable Aphrodite Konduros, Greenville, SC The Honorable Harris Bruce Williams, Columbia, SC

Court of Appeals

Seat 9

The Honorable James Edward Lockemy, Dillon, SC

Circuit Court

1st Judicial Circuit, Seat 1
1st Judicial Circuit, Seat 2
2nd Judicial Circuit, Seat 1
3rd Judicial Circuit, Seat 1
4th Judicial Circuit, Seat 1
6th Judicial Circuit, Seat 1
8th Judicial Circuit, Seat 1
13th Judicial Circuit, Seat 4
15th Judicial Circuit, Seat 1
16th Judicial Circuit, Seat 1
16th Judicial Circuit, Seat 2
At-Large, Seat 10

The Honorable Edgar Warren Dickson, Orangeburg, SC The Honorable Diane Schafer Goodstein, Summerville, SC The Honorable Doyet A. Early, III, Bamberg, SC The Honorable Ralph Ferrell Cothran, Jr., Manning, SC The Honorable Paul Michael Burch, Pageland, SC The Honorable Brian M. Gibbons, Chester, SC The Honorable Frank Robert Addy, Jr., Greenwood, SC The Honorable David Garrison Hill, Greenville, SC The Honorable Steven H. John, Little River, SC The Honorable John Calvin Hayes, III, Rock Hill, SC The Honorable Daniel Dewitt Hall, York, SC Jerome P. Askins, III, Johnsonville, SC Jeffrey P. Bloom, Columbia, SC Joseph M. Epting, Jr., Irmo, SC Joev Randell Flovd, Columbia, SC William Patrick Frick, Winnsboro, SC Jon Renè Josey, Florence, SC

Reginald I. Lloyd, Elgin, SC
Jason Scott Luck, Charleston, SC
William Vickery Meetze, Marion, SC
Jocelyn Newman, Columbia, SC
Grady L. Patterson, III, Columbia, SC
The Honorable Bentley Douglas Price, Charleston, SC
Robert L. Reibold, Columbia, SC
Walter W. Thompson, Sr., Rock Hill, SC
William Bertram von Herrmann, Conway, SC

Family Court

1st Judicial Circuit, Seat 2 The Honorable William J. Wylie, Jr., Summerville, SC 1st Judicial Circuit, Seat 3 The Honorable Nancy Chapman McLin, Summerville, SC 2nd Judicial Circuit, Seat 1 The Honorable Vicki J. Snelgrove, Aiken, SC The Honorable George Marion McFaddin, Jr., Gable, SC 3rd Judicial Circuit, Seat 1 4th Judicial Circuit, Seat 1 The Honorable Cely Anne Brigman, Darlington, SC The Honorable Dorothy Mobley Jones, Columbia, SC 5th Judicial Circuit, Seat 1 The Honorable Gwendlyne Young Jones, Columbia, SC 5th Judicial Circuit, Seat 4 7th Judicial Circuit, Seat 3 The Honorable Usha J. Bridges, Gaffney, SC 8th Judicial Circuit, Seat 2 William Randall Phipps, Newberry, SC The Honorable John M. Rucker, Newberry, SC

9th Judicial Circuit, Seat 1 9th Judicial Circuit, Seat 3 The Honorable Daniel E. Martin, Jr., Charleston, SC
The Honorable John Lawrence Duffy, III, N. Charleston,

SC

Spiros Stavros Ferderigos, Charleston, SC Michèle Patrão Forsythe, Charleston, SC

Sean F. Keefer, Charleston, SC **Rita J. Roache,** Mt. Pleasant, SC

9th Judicial Circuit, Seat 6 The Honorable Jack Alan Landis, Moncks Corner, SC 10th Judicial Circuit, Seat 2 The Honorable Karen F. Ballenger, Walhalla, SC 11th Judicial Circuit, Seat 1 The Honorable William Gregory Seigler, McCormick, SC 12th Judicial Circuit, Seat 3 The Honorable Jerry Deese Vinson, Jr., Florence, SC The Honorable Harry L. Phillips, Jr., Greenville, SC 13th Judicial Circuit, Seat 3 13th Judicial Circuit, Seat 4 The Honorable Alvin D. Johnson, Pickens, SC 13th Judicial Circuit, Seat 6 The Honorable Alex Kinlaw, Jr., Greenville, SC 14th Judicial Circuit, Seat 2 The Honorable Peter L. Fuge, Bluffton, SC

15th Judicial Circuit, Seat 2 The Honorable Melissa Johnson Emery, Myrtle Beach, SC

16th Judicial Circuit, Seat 1 The Honorable Thomas H. White, IV, Union, SC

ALC Seat 6

The Honorable Sebastien Phillip Lenski, Columbia, SC

Master-in-Equity

Allendale County, 14th Circuit The Honorable Walter H. Sanders, Jr., Barnwell, SC

Anderson & Oconee County,

10th Circuit Steven Coleman Kirven, Anderson, SC

Emma W. Morris, Walhalla, SC Kurt Tavernier, Anderson, SC

Charleston County, 9th Circuit The Honorable Mikell Ross Scarborough, Charleston, SC

Clarendon County, 3rd Circuit Joseph King Coffey, Manning, SC

Dorchester County, 1st Circuit

Sumter County, 3rd Circuit

The Honorable James E. Chellis, Summerville, SC

The Honorable Richard Lauren Booth, Sumter, SC

Retired Judges

Supreme Court Justice James E. Moore, Greenwood, SC

Circuit Court Judge Levy S. Alford, York, SC

Circuit Court

Judge Brooks P. Goldsmith, Edisto Island, SC
Circuit Court

Judge Charles Victor Pyle, Jr., Greenville, SC

Family Court Judge Robert E. Guess, Union, SC

Persons desiring to testify at public hearings shall furnish written notarized statements of proposed testimony. These statements must be received by **Noon**, **Monday**, **November 2**, **2015**. The Commission has witness affidavit forms that may be used for proposed testimony. While this form is not mandatory, it will be supplied on request. Statements should be mailed or delivered to the Judicial Merit Selection Commission as follows:

Elizabeth Brogdon, Chief Counsel, 104 Gressette Building, Post Office Box 142, Columbia, SC 29202.

All testimony, including documents furnished to the Commission, must be submitted under oath. Persons knowingly giving false information, either orally or in writing, shall be subject to penalty.

For further information about the Judicial Merit Selection Commission and the judicial screening process, you may access the website at www.scstatehouse.gov/html-pages/judmerit.html.

Questions concerning the hearing and procedures should be directed to the Commission at (803) 212-6623.